Memorial Library of Music

The Memorial Library of Music collection, containing rare music score editions, manuscripts, and musicians' letters.
December 31, 2022Ray Heigemeir

The Memorial Library of Music, presented to Stanford in 1948 by Mr. and Mrs. George T. Keating, contains over 1,800 printed and manuscript scores of operas, symphonic works, chamber music, and choral works by major composers from the 17th to 20th centuries, including Bach, Lully, Handel, Mozart, Beethoven, Wagner, Brahms, Mascagni, Debussy, and Stravinsky.

Our Spotlight exhibit includes all items digitized to date; see also items cataloged to date in SearchWorks.

1950 print catalogue may be viewed online. A significant number of items have been added to the MLM since its publication; many of these may be found in SearchWorks. Also, please be aware that the print catalogue contains some errors and omissions.

Selected digitized items

Encomium musices engraving
Encomium musices. Anterpiae : Apud Philippum Gallaeum, [ca. 1600]
Franz Schubert manuscript of Gesang der geister uber den wassern
Franz Schubert. Gesang der geister uber den wassern, D. 705 (1820)
Haydn string quartets, first edition, violin part
Joseph Haydn. Collection complette des quatuors. Violin 1. A Paris : Chez Pleyel, auteur et editeur de musique, [1802]
View all digitized items
Last updated July 24, 2023